Patterson Park Pagoda: Asian influence in Southeast Baltimore
The Patterson Park Pagoda, built in 1891, was originally known as the Observatory because of its excellent vistas. From its upper balconies on a clear day, visitors can see Baltimore’s downtown, the Key Bridge and Fort McHenry.
The beautiful Victorian structure sits on Hampstead Hill in Patterson Park, which was an important military installation during the War of 1812. In fact, three monuments dedicated to that war are located adjacent to the pagoda.
For decades the Pagoda was closed and fell into a state of decay. Working in conjunction with city agencies and volunteers, the Friends of Patterson Park were able to gradually restore the structure. Visitors have since been able to enjoy the beautiful views and see the architectural details inside and out since 2002.